Remodelers Council Member Spotlight with Gary Barnum

Job Description: I handle all outside sales. I also manage all of our crew’s fieldwork and stay on top of new ideas, products and techniques in the hardwood industry.

 

Gary Barnum of Barnum Floors

Q. Where is your hometown?

A. I was born in rural Callender, IA, but we moved to Nisswa in northern Minnesota and lived there until high school. I consider Nisswa my hometown.

Q. Family?

A. I have a 23 year old daughter, Madison who attends U of I. She is working in our shop this summer. My significant other of 9 years is Sandy Fulton. I am surrounded by immediate family here in the Des Moines area. I work hand-in-hand with my sister, Kathy Barnum and my father Al Barnum, prior to his death
in December.

Q. What do you enjoy doing when not working?

A. Boating in the Ozarks, Motorcycling, Snow Skiing, Snowmobiling & Travel.

Q. First job?

A. At age 10, I caught and then rented turtles to tourists for the weekly Turtle Races in Nisswa

Q. If you could learn any skill?

A. I would love to be able to speak multiple languages.

Q. Favorite Quote?

A. My father always said this and I believe it to be true: “Behold
the turtle; he makes progress only when he sticks his neck out”

Q. One modern convenience you would not want to live without?

A. Airplane

Q. Favorite place to entertain clients or friends?

A. Nick’s on 100th in Clive

Q. Favorite super hero?

A. Underdog

Q. Favorite creative outlet or hobby?

A. Pool league, golf, volleyball & our annual Hallo-palooza Halloween Party

Q. What aspect of the remodeling industry do you enjoy the most?

A. Bringing new technologies, passion & design to wood flooring in customer’s homes.

Q. What would you do if you were not in the remodeling industry?

A. Working in the mountains; skiing and snowmobiling.

Q. How many years have you been a member of the Remodelers Council?

A. Not sure, maybe you can tell me???

Q. Why membership in the Remodelers Council is important to you?

A. I think it is critical for people with common professions to have a way to gather together to
bounce off ideas and discuss challenges.


 Clipboard01

Leave a comment