March Remodelers Council Member Spotlight With Jim Millen

JimMillen

Name: Jim Millen

Job Description: Sales Designer at Showplace Kitchens

Q. Where is your hometown?
A. West Des Moines

Q. Family
A. I am married to Laura and have two kids Kristy and Nicole and four grandkids Jonathan, Alyssa, Reagan and Adalynn

Q. First job?
A. Burning boxes for my dad’s wholesale plumbing and heating business. I believe I was in about 2nd grade at the time.           It is no surprise I love a good bomb fire.

Q. As a kid, I wanted to be a?
A. A pro baseball player. I loved Mr. Cub (Ernie Banks).

Q. Words I live by or Favorite Quote?
A. Don’t worry about anything! Pray about everything!

Q. What is your most useful business “tool”?
A. The 20/20 design program, I could not imagine having to draw up layouts.

Q. What would people be surprised to know about you?
A. My wrestling coach Dennis Hastert later became Speaker of the House.

Q. Mentors and/or heroes?
A. Dennis Hastert, he used to take us on all kinds of road trips for wrestling and another group called Explorers that he             started. The trips allowed me to experience and see things that I never would have had a chance to see, since I am             one of 14 kids and did not go on vacations with my family as a kid.

Q. Favorite creative outlet or hobby?
A. I like camping, hiking, biking and spending time with my grandkids.

Q. What would you do if you were not in the remodeling industry?
A. I would be working with kids who needed a second chance.

Q. How many years have you been a member of the Remodelers Council?
A. Showplace Kitchens has been a member for over 10 years and I have been going to the meetings for about 2 ½                   years.

Q. Why membership in the Remodelers Council is important to you?
A. The Remodelers Council has allowed me to get to know other professionals in the industry as well as educate me on            remodeling practices. I then can pass along the resources that the Council has offered me to my clients.

Leave a comment